Feedback with Olwen

If I want to focus solely on the idea of the ‘power’ of communication and how technology has advanced our abilities to communicate, how would I show this?  What would I be trying to say?

The tutorial with my group was incredibly helpful as it forced me to really bring my ideas together.  I think the reason I have struggled to narrow my ideas down and really start finalising a concept is because I started with such a wide theme, with so many contributing ideas.  It was becoming increasingly difficult to distill all of my information into something that I could use.  Of course, my in depth research has helped me enormously in terms of widening the possibilities of my outcome, and it has also helped to broaden my search, but my search has gotten so broad that I’ve been struggling to reign it in.

After talking with Olwen and my tutorial group, I was led on to the idea of reporting  an historic event ‘today’, using modern technologies, social networks etc,.  The advent of unregulated news on social media sites can often make it difficult to find reputable or reliable information.  There are lots of examples online of historical events being displayed through the use of modern social networking sites.  Certainly it is a case of a more imagined view of the past.  Use peoples’ personal accounts of historical events?

For example, these Instagram updates

Screen Shot 2014-04-23 at 16.06.09 Screen Shot 2014-04-23 at 16.06.48 Screen Shot 2014-04-23 at 16.06.24 Screen Shot 2014-04-23 at 16.05.45 Screen Shot 2014-04-23 at 16.05.35 Screen Shot 2014-04-23 at 16.05.25 Screen Shot 2014-04-23 at 16.05.13 Screen Shot 2014-04-23 at 16.05.00

I’d like to somehow use an idea like this, but make it more personal to me.  I’m not sure how well I’d be able to differentiate my ideas/outcomes from those I’ve already seen.  These Instagram updates are done so well and are incredibly effective.  I’m struggling to see myself achieving the same level of effectiveness.

I really like the idea of showing how communication has changed with the increasing use of modern technology.  Old historical events in a modern context?  Technology map?  Info-graphic of worldwide communications?  It reminds me of a big web of communication that reaches around the entire world, connecting all of us whether we know about it or not.

Twitter has 105,779,710 registered users.

Mapping?  Map of worldwide communications?  My initial thoughts went to this bein shown as a different sort of map – a map that would show the levels of outbound communications that go out of any given place.  For example, there is an obvious ‘spike’ in communication levels during public occasions i.e. Kate Middleton and Prince William’s baby being born.  The way that most people communicate with one another in 2014 would probably be online, certainly in the Western World.  Yes, there are the letter writers amongst us, but in an age where we have family members living all over the World the easiest and quickest way of contacting with them would be online.

Leave a Reply

