Typographic Hierarchy

Today was the feedback for our typography/hierarchy exercise.  I really enjoyed this task, a lot more than the typography specimen poster which I had missed some of the tutorials for so felt I was running to catch up and ended up making something that I wasn’t entirely happy with.

After being given the copy from which we had to create a dynamic and visually interesting piece of layout, I read through it several times to find the primary, secondary and tertiary information.  There were more obvious things, such as ‘TypoGraphic’ (the name of the publication) and things like dates and editorial information that stood out, so I set to work in finding those things that would take centre stage on the page.

Mostly it involved a lot of playing around with layout and experimenting with where things should live on the page, and this was my first attempt.  I wanted to create some degree of dynamism with the title and name of the publication, and chose to have this overlapping and bleeding off the edges.  The grid structure we were provided with really helped with finding good positioning and creating a visually aesthetic layout.

Screen Shot 2015-06-10 at 14.00.11

I found this attempt a bit too blocky and symmetrical.  It flows well and reads how I would like it to, but the overall appearance is quite basic.  I carried on playing with the layout and where I thought the different elements should sit, moving away slightly form what I had done.  I wasn’t fussed on how I had chosen to lay out the text, particularly with the big blocky passage of text in the middle.  Your eye is drawn to the centre and although the bulk of information is contained here, I felt that it should sit somewhere else on the page to create something a bit more interesting.

Screen Shot 2015-06-10 at 14.00.25

After some more playing around, this was the final version that I settled on.  There are several aspects to this one that I really enjoy, like the pullout quote being centre stage, in which I also changed the kerning to a greater point size.  Whilst still maintaining legibility which can be difficult with oddly kerned passages of text, I think this adds something to the quote as opposed to the previous version which just felt too blocky and congested.

I made the decision to have the secondary text (dates and editor details) wrapping around the primary text (the name of the publication ‘TypoGraphic’) as I think it creates another visually interesting element to the layout, without being distracting.  It’s not particularly interesting information so I didn’t want it to draw focus away from any of the other elements on the page.  I also chose to place the main body of the text on the right hand side crossing two of the four grids we had been provided with, justified right to create a balance against the large bold black text on the bottom left.  The white space on the left hand side is an intentional break from the rest of the layout, as it offers contrast with the text which spans the rest of the page.

I am very pleased with how this turned out!  When we had our feedback there were some really interesting ones, and it was fun to see how people had interpreted the copy and what they had done with it.  In a group full of 50+ people it was interesting to see how we all dealt with the exact same copy text in such different ways.

I’ve also now moved away from utter hatred of inDesign which is a massive bonus.  I spent so long looking at the hideous grids and how it didn’t look like it was going to help me at all, but after the tutorials with Paul where he showed us just how versatile the software is, I found it incredibly useful to be given so much freedom and allowances to create something really unique.

Leave a Reply

