The Journey Continues!

Well this journey brief is turning out to be an interesting one.  I’m finding so many different possibilities that I could really run with that it’s hard to know which one to choose.  I’ve been thinking about journeys and travelling and hopes and dreams and aspirations and all those other associations that you could make, and the inevitable growth and change that you experience.  This all has to be contained within the parameters of your first year at university, but it’s been a big one so there are a lot of possibilities that I’m pretty excited about!

I’ve been looking at seed germination, particularly dandelions and their seeds that fly on the wind before finding somewhere to settle and grow!

Screen Shot 2015-06-10 at 14.48.04 Screen Shot 2015-06-10 at 14.48.29

As a child you’re drawn to them and their ‘magical’ powers, placing wishes and hopes on their seeds and blowing them into the wind hoping that your wish catches flight and comes true.  I’ve always found it fascinating that when we’re young we can put so much hope on something so small.  Having read about the meanings of dandelions and their significance in homeopathy and ancient medicines, they seem to represent a willingness to prevail, strength, perseverance and endurance.  These are definitely qualities that I feel I’ve had to hold onto this past year, and definitely qualities that I think would represent my journey and how my emotional and personal journey has been just as important as my educational one.

“Do you see that tree?  Everything that made that giant tree is already contained inside this tiny little seed.  All it needs is some time, a little bit of sunshine and rain and voila!  You may feel like you can’t do much yet, but that’s just because you’re not a tree yet.”

Leave a Reply

