Field – India

Something that really struck me when in India was the culture, and how layered everything is.  I did know a fair amount about the religion, culture, and society within India, but seeing it in practice and in the flesh was an entirely different experience.  It’s one of those places that has to be seen to be believed.  It was a sensory overload that’s for sure.  I’ve never felt overwhelmed so much by somewhere before!  Having travelled in the past but to ‘Western’ countries, this was my first experience of the ‘Eastern’ culture and it was totally different.  I’ve tried to put into words how different it is, but it really does just have to be seen.  There are smells, sights, sounds, tastes, the whole bunch and it’s just everywhere.  That feeling of total immersion is something I was interested in as I think it could tie into my practice, or at least to an outcome (although I’m not sure what that is yet).  Something that people can interact with, something that is demonstrative of something bigger, a piece that can be tangible and interesting and really involve the viewer.

Leave a Reply

