Way-Finding & Interactivity // FMP

After talking about way-finding and stories etc., I thought it might be really interesting to use this sort of thing.  The level of engagement with the audience or viewer is something I’d really like to have, as rather than my final major project be something one dimensional I think it can only really work at its best by having tangible interaction from the viewer.  The nature of my project itself is not passive, it’s not about standing by and waiting for the weather to change – it’s about understanding your position, yourself, in a wider context – for me the best way of achieving this is through interaction.  This is along the lines I was thinking of about playing with scale, and not just using my one solitary corner in the degree show but rather having elements around the entire building if I’m allowed!
PLAID LONDON — WORK:
In terms of how this could work with my subject choice, I’ve been playing around with having some sort of dispensing system alongside a map that either gives people a choice or a command – and it’s up to them what they do with the information.  The whole thing will come back to my ‘space’ in the degree show, which I think I’m leaning towards having a wall similar to the infographic style attached and some printed materials that cause unbalance in the viewer, or give them the opportunity to question their personal position in a way that they’d not done before.
For example in the big stairwells in B Block, having big signs that say “Nothing to see up here…” (even though they lead to other floors, of course) or little notices around the entire exhibition that aren’t necessarily confusing but aren’t exactly helpful i.e. sifting your way through an inordinate amount of information daily in order to find what’s truthful and/or relevant, which of course is different for each viewer anyway.
I’ve been working too with the idea of those ‘choose your own adventure’ books, and how this could work into my idea – what you get is based on your choices, that is if you’re able to choose for yourself!
It’s all *quite* loose at the moment, but I’m getting there slowly.  It’s been changing ever so slightly each time I have a tutorial or a cornerstone-thought, something will slightly change my course but it’s all very close knit.
Current mood: Eager.
Leave a Reply

